top of page
Image-empty-state.png

Maia

Hi! I'm Maia Phillips, originally from Zimbabwe, grew up in Johannesburg, and have been living in Cape Town, South Africa, for the past 8 years. I fell in love with Cape Town after moving there from Johannesburg to study Business at the University of Cape Town. As an individual, I would describe myself as active, finding joy in sports, fitness, and outdoor activities. I also have a keen interest in marketing, particularly in the fashion and sporting industries. For the past 4 years, I have worked as an au pair for various families, which has been an incredible experience. Recently, I decided to combine my love for children with my passion for travel, and I'm thrilled to be exploring the world.

Over my four-year journey as an au pair, I've had the privilege of working with children of varying ages and genders, forming strong bonds with each family I served. My experience extends from caring for infants as young as 8 months old to early teens. My experience started during COVID-19, when I took care of two boys aged 6 and 9 while also handling their homeschooling. Later, I had a fulfilling year with a single-parent family, looking after a 13 year old girl and a 7 year-old boy, and taking on additional household and parental responsibilities. My experiences with infants began with a Belgium family temporarily living in Cape Town, where I lovingly cared for their three charming girls aged 8 months, 3 and 5 years old. Most recently, I cared for a 5-year-old boy, adding yet another enriching chapter to my journey as an au pair. My journey has been filled with joy, growth and the opportunity to make a positive impact on the lives of the children and families I've had the pleasure of working with.

bottom of page